Recreation Commission


  • 5:45 p.m.
  • 2nd Tuesday of every month
  • City Hall
    500 N Cedar Street
    Community Meeting Room
    Lumberton, NC 28358


The recreation commission is composed of 9 members, all of whom are residents of the City during the term of office for which they are appointed. 8 members are appointed by the City Council, 1 from each electoral precinct; and 1 member is appointed by the Mayor at-large.


The recreation commission provides, maintains, operates and supervises the public parks and playgrounds, athletic fields and recreation centers and other recreation facilities owned or controlled by the city or leased or loaned to the recreation commission. The recreation commission has complete supervision of the facilities and activities provided and conducted on or in connection with the parks, playgrounds, athletic fields and recreation centers provided and has the power to conduct any form of recreational or cultural activity.